ROUTES OF MURO

VILLAGE ROUTES

Welcome to Muro, a town with a rich history and cultural heritage. Our tourist itineraries offer the possibility of discovering the most emblematic places in the municipality. From the majestic stately homes to the most significant monuments, the routes pass through the whole town, offering a complete vision of the architectural and cultural richness of Muro. Visitors can enjoy a unique experience, immersed in the history and culture of the town. We invite you to discover Muro and its tourist itineraries, and enjoy an unforgettable experience in a unique environment.

Carrers de la vila de muro

Morell - Bisbe Massanet

5 km
We start our route in Plaça del Conde d'Empúries and continue along Carrer Martorell-Bisbe Massanet-Joan Mieres-Sants Doctors. When we reach the Pont de Morell, we can see the Reina Sofia Residence. After crossing the bridge, we find Es Cos and Puig d'En Morro on our left. On our right, we see the old Cruz de Morell and then we reach Es Pla de Morell with the Acequia Real. We then take the Camino des Puig d'En Morro on our left, passing Son Parera Nou and Son Parera Vell. Turn left onto the Carretera de Son Morei and continue along Les Pedreres. When you reach the Coll de Morell, you will see the Lluca ferrat well on your right. Taking the S'Estret path on our right, we reach the Cross and the Camí dels Fiters. Finally, we contemplate the rocks of Badaluc where the village is located while the old flour mills welcome us.

ERMITA DE SANT VICENÇ

8 km
We start our tour in the Plaça del Conde d'Empúries and continue through several squares and streets, such as the Plaça de la Constitució, Plaça dels Abeuraors, Carrer del Bisbe Albertí, Carrer Juan Carlos I - Libertad and Carrer dels Màrtires. Next, we pass through the Placeta Mn. Francesc Mulet and the Capelleta de La Sang before reaching the Plaza del Manantial. On our right we leave the bullring and the schools, and head towards the road that leads to Santa Margalida. On the left we will see the Cruz de los Judíos and on the right the Camino de Son Jeroni. Continuing along the road, we will find the old Font dels Guals and we continue until we reach the Casal de Son Jeroni. Afterwards, return along the same path until you reach the path that leads to the Sineu road. Turn right and you will soon come to the Font de Can Milec. Passing by Casas de Son Blai and the Hippodrome, we continue straight on until we take the Camí des Carnatge on the left. Passing by some quarries, we continue along the path while observing small farms enclosed by dry walls. We reach the Camino de Llubí where we turn right and continue until we reach the Creu de Ciutat. Finally, we enter the village along this road.

Son Jeroni - Son Blai

9 km
We start our tour in the Plaça del Conde d'Empúries and continue through several squares and streets, such as the Plaça de la Constitució, Plaça dels Abeuraors, Carrer del Bisbe Albertí, Carrer Juan Carlos I - Libertad and Carrer dels Màrtires. Next, we pass through the Placeta Mn. Francesc Mulet and the Capelleta de La Sang before reaching the Plaza del Manantial. On our right we leave the bullring and the schools, and head towards the road that leads to Santa Margalida. On the left we will see the Cruz de los Judíos and on the right the Camino de Son Jeroni. Continuing along the road, we will find the old Font dels Guals and we continue until we reach the Casal de Son Jeroni. Afterwards, return along the same path until you reach the path that leads to the Sineu road. Turn right and you will soon see the Font de Can Milec. Passing by Casas de Son Blai and the Hippodrome, we continue straight on until we take the Camí des Carnatge on the left. Passing by some quarries, we continue along the path while contemplating small farms enclosed by dry walls. We reach the Camino de Llubí where we turn right and continue until we reach the Creu de Ciutat. Finally, we enter the village along this road.

VINROMÀ

11 km
We start our route in the Plaça del Conde d'Empúries and continue along Carrer Joan Massanet. On the left we leave the Marjal Cross, pass by the Cemetery and take the old road, then turn right to take the Camí de Vinromà. Along the way, you can see small orchards enclosed by dry walls and water mills. We then turn right onto the Camino de Ses Punyaleres and continue descending. We continue along the Son Carbonell path until we reach the old Pollença-Artà road, where we turn right again onto the Son Claret path. Finally, we reach the Carretera de Marjal and turn right to follow it until we reach the village.

HERITAGE ROUTE

Muro, historic-artistic site

In 1975, the declaration of the old sector of the town of Muro as a historic-artistic site was approved, with the intention of protecting the monumental and architectural legacy of the town. The layout of the streets and small squares indicate the antiquity of the town, which was formed after the Christian conquest in 1229, although it was already inhabited in the past. A stroll through the Comtat and Sa Riba neighbourhoods will allow us to contemplate interesting and varied examples of popular and traditional architecture, together with the preserved remains of the old mansions of the feudal lords (16th-18th centuries). Marés, extracted from the local quarries, served until the first half of the 20th century as the main construction element. The good use of this limestone can be seen in many houses with cobbled doorways, beautifully carved windows and heraldic coats of arms. The walk will allow us to contemplate the remains of the casals de Sant Martí, Rossinyol, the old butcher’s shop, the rectory and a multitude of houses of traditional popular architecture, as well as the flour mills of Sa Riba. From this privileged spot you can see a complete panoramic view of the Bay of Alcúdia, with the lands of Cós just below the village, where races and games are still held in summer; the dry lands and part of the Marjal lands, with the Albufera and the Mediterranean in the background.

CHURCH OF THE BLOOD, FORMER ALMSHOUSE

It is the oldest temple preserved in Muro. It was built between 1414 and 1428, by testamentary disposition of Mn. Jaume Mollet (†141414). It was originally located in the current Plaça Comte d’Empúries. This building, since its construction, was the Casa de l’Almoina, the meeting place of the jurors and councillors, the archive and the school. In 1906 it was moved to this location, a few metres further on.

In 1973 it was moved to its current location to facilitate the circulation of vehicles. It follows the traces of the repopulation churches despite being of a later chronology. The entrance is resolved with a semicircular arch, with twenty-two voussoirs, marked by a moulding. Above it are the arms of the promoter, two piers (Mollet), flanking the image of the Crucified Christ. The simple façade is crowned by a long window, which is reproduced on the sides, and a belfry for the bell. The interior has a single nave divided by an ogival diaphragm arch that supports the wooden gable roof. The altar venerates the image of the Santo Cristo de la Sangre, an anonymous carving, probably from the 16th century, which has always presided over the Holy Thursday procession. In 2003 it was declared a listed building by the Consell Insular de Mallorca (Mallorca Island Council).

The Cristo de la Sangre is waiting in front of the church to join the procession on Maundy Thursday night, which has just left the parish church.
The Christ of the Blood is one of the oldest images in Muro. It has always presided over this church, enjoying the devotion of the people of Muro.

PARISH CHURCH OF SAINT JOHN THE BAPTIST

The main church of Muro is dedicated to San Juan Bautista, patron saint of the town and titular of the parish, as a consequence of the bull of Pope Innocent IV in 1348. It was built between 1570 and 1611 in the traditional Gothic style. It has a longitudinal plan, with seven chapels per side between the buttresses and a polygonal apse. The Chapel of the Roser is in the Baroque style.

The roof has a ribbed vault. On the outside, the arches that tie the buttresses stand out, a work from the 18th century. The main doorway, the women’s doorway, has a simple design (1825). In the Baroque side doorway, or men’s doorway, we can see the images of Our Lady seated, St. John the Baptist and St. John the Evangelist (represented as children on their iconographic attributes, the lamb and the eagle), St. Peter and St. Paul. On the lintel, there is a coat of arms of Muro, as a sign that the work was paid for by the town (1779).

The interior of the church preserves a rich collection of altarpieces, a sample of the evolution of Mallorcan Baroque art in the 17th and 18th centuries. The main altarpiece (1639-1787) stands out. The large windows, which provide great luminosity and represent episodes from the Old and New Testament, were opened in the 1940s. The organ, from 1760, is the work of Pere Josep Bosch i Font.

Bell tower

The tower is one of the most emblematic buildings in Muro. Its 46 metres high make it visible from everywhere. It was built at the beginning of the 17th century. In 1640, work continued on the bell tower up to the top. It has seven sections, the last two with four pointed arches on each side, and an upper roof. Inside there are four bells called Eloi, Bárbara, Angelina and Trinidad. There is also a wooden wheel, the mazuelas, used only on Good Friday and Holy Saturday. Access to the upper part is from inside the church via the pontarron.

High altarpiece (1639-1787)

The fact that the work went on for almost 150 years makes this altarpiece one of the most interesting in Mallorca. Well-known artists who worked on it include Pere Pou, Pere Joan Pinya, Gregori Alex and Gregori Herrera, among others. The three bodies show the evolution of the Baroque style without detracting from the harmony of the whole. One cannot fail to notice the carving of Saint John the Baptist, which comes from earlier altarpieces and which some authors have placed among the works of Sagrerian influence.

TOWN HALL AND COUNT OF EMPÚRIAS SQUARE

The place where we find ourselves offers a magnificent view of some of the most historically important buildings: the town hall and the parish church. The urban layout of this area of the village was the subject of debate and study from the last third of the 19th century until 1949. Historically, the town hall occupied part of the current square (Iglesia de la Sang) together with the Hospital building and the prison. The relocation of the church in 1905 left the space free so that it would eventually become the current main square after the rejection of several projects and proposals for the location of the new Town Hall and other buildings.

COUNT OF EMPÚRIAS SQUARE, HUG IV

This site is named after one of the porcioneros of the Conquest of Mallorca in 1229 who received part of the goods and rents of Muro as a reward for services rendered. It is popularly known as "Sa Plaça". The current appearance, with its benches, iron gates and stone paving, is the result of the 1997 refurbishment. It is a large space decorated with lime trees and a central square originally intended for the Band of Music. In this place, when the month of June arrives and the lime trees blossom with their characteristic aroma, a large part of the popular events of the patron saint's festivities are held. The market is held every Sunday throughout the year.

TOWN HALL

The architect Francesc Casas Llompart (1905-1977) designed the new town hall in 1945. The works were carried out in 1948-1949. The building of Muro responds to the post-war Mallorcan regionalist style and the administrative and symbolic needs of the time, as intended. It has an isolated rectangular floor plan with three floors. The main façade has a stone porticoed atrium, above which is a balcony with moulded balusters and three large windows crowned with pediments. The central one houses a coat of arms of Muro. The third floor, which is lower, is crowned by a wide wooden overhang. This entrance section is well delimited on the sides thanks to the stone puddle and the presence of two boats decorated with finely worked amphorae. Inside, the main features are the colonnaded atrium on the ground floor, the Plenary Hall, with original furniture, wooden coffered ceilings, lamps by Can Gordiola and an interesting gallery of portraits of illustrious sons and daughters.

CHURCH OF SANTA ANA AND EX-CONVENT OF MÍNIMOS

This is a convent complex comprising a church, cloister and rear garden gallery. In 1584, the friars of the Minim Order, founded by San Francisco de Paula in 1474, arrived in Muro.

Until the confiscation of 1836, they lived in this convent in Muro. Afterwards, the cloister has been used for different purposes: town hall, municipal archive, slaughterhouse, school, bullring, etc. It is currently the headquarters of the Miquel Tortell Municipal Music School and the Sant Francesc CC.

Church of Santa Ana

The temple was built by master builder Lluc Mesquida Florit between 1703 and 1730. It has a single nave, five chapels per band and a polygonal apse. The compact exterior reveals the volumes of the nave and the presbytery. A window gallery at the top and the entrances are the only decorative features. The main façade is a monumental canvas of squared stone with a Baroque portal crowned by the figure of Saint Francis of Paola, patron saint of the Minimal Order. The side of the façade opens onto a small square created in 1984. Inside, the roof of the single nave has a ribbed vault with slightly perpendicular arches and wreathed ribs. The chapels and the apse have copiña vaults. The church houses a good sample of Baroque altarpieces (17th-18th centuries); the carvings of the patron saints of the Minims, the Virgin of Solitude and Saint Francis of Paula, anonymous carvings from the 17th century; the processional organ by Jordi Bosch, purchased in 1771 from the parish of Binissalem.

Cloister

The cloister was built in different stages in the 17th-18th centuries. Above the entrance portal there is a beautiful coat of arms of the Minimal Order. The square space is articulated around porticoed galleries, columns with circular truncated conical shafts and pseudo-Ionic capitals. The main staircase, the cistern, the refectory and two restored sundials (1779) stand out in the enclosure. The rear gallery from the second half of the 18th century is a fine example of Mallorcan Baroque convent art. In 2004, the Island Council of Mallorca declared the complex an Asset of Cultural Interest with the category of monument.

BULLRING "LA MONUMENTAL"

In 1911, the owner of the Son Font land, Jaume Serra “Rafaloto” (†1956), decided to excavate one of the many quarries in the region, giving it a round shape. The work was carried out by hand, with the use of a sledgehammer. This is how it became a bullring, the third bullring in Muro since the 19th century.

The corners and material, except for the excavation, were sold in the villages of Mallorca so that the owner could pay for the work. During the years of excavation, shows were already being put on, also to pay for the work, but it was not until August 1922 that it was officially inaugurated. All the outbuildings (corrals, bull pens, horse yard, infirmary, and the bull ring) are carved directly into the marés stone, giving the building an exceptional interest and character that make this bullring unique in the world. Also of note are the garden areas and the lonjas, where vines grow to provide shade in summer, reminiscent of the atmosphere of the typical corrals of the houses of Muro. The current appearance of the complex is the result of the 1970 refurbishment and the work carried out after the purchase of the building by the Town Hall in 2010.

Since before, even at its last inauguration, the bullring has been the scene of bullfighting events of all kinds, from popular festivals to bullfights, with the participation of the most important bullfighters of each era, especially in the last two decades of the 20th century. Nowadays, the main bullfighting event takes place during the San Juan festivities in June. In addition to bullfighting, the bullring can host all kinds of sporting, musical and other events, with a capacity of 4,800 spectators.

The quarry, located in the heart of the new Son Font neighbourhood, looked like this 11 years after excavation began. The promoter, Jaume Serra, had a house built in the same square. He died there in 1956.
The grandstands are packed with spectators before the show begins. In the market area, the bower provides shade and gives the square one of its most characteristic features.
The "paseillo" starts a new evening of bullfighting with the bullring full to the brim.

LITHOGRAPHIC MONOLITHIC ROUTES

The artist Adolf Gil has created a collection of urban art to promote the artistic heritage of Muro. This collection is made up of lithographic marble monoliths strategically placed in the town centre. The aim is to offer a different way of graphically reproducing the monuments, which directly involves the viewer in obtaining the image.

The monoliths feature engravings reproducing general views or details of the most representative buildings of Muro. Using the FROTTAGE technique, the potential user can take home a self-made image of the monument. The user can choose how they want to trace the image, with greater or lesser detail, with a single colour or polychrome, a part or all of it, combining tracing with freehand drawing, etc.

The project is aimed at the whole population and the monoliths are located on the public highway so that anyone can use them whenever and however they want. In addition, the monoliths can be disseminated in educational centres for complementary activities in subjects related to knowledge of the environment, social studies and plastic arts. With appropriate prior dissemination, visitors can also take a lithographic reproduction of the monuments home with them.

S'ALBUFERA NATURAL PARK

The Albufera de Mallorca is an area of ecological and environmental importance, as it is home to a wide variety of animal and plant species. It is a protected natural space, which occupies an area of more than 2,500 hectares. Inside it there is a freshwater lake, surrounded by an extensive area of wetlands and forests. It is also a key place for bird watching, as more than 200 different species can be found here.

It is an area of ecological and environmental importance, as it is home to a wide variety of animal and plant species. It is a protected natural space, covering an area of more than 2,500 hectares. Inside it there is a freshwater lake, surrounded by an extensive area of wetlands and forests. It is also a key place for bird watching, as more than 200 different species can be found here.

Albufera de Muro Mallorca

BIRDWATCHING IN MALLORCA

S’Albufera de Mallorca is a true paradise for birdwatching. In this environment, you will find up to 303 species of birds, which represents two thirds of the total number of species in the Balearic archipelago. More than 10,000 birds spend the winter in s’Albufera, along with large groups of starlings and migratory birds such as swallows, white-rumped ducks and cranes…

Within the S’Albufera Natural Park, there are 8 bird observatories and 11 observation platforms. Consult our calendar to find out which birds you can observe at each time of the year.

Discover this wonderful natural environment and enjoy the ornithological richness of the Albufera de Mallorca. A perfect place for bird lovers and to live unique experiences in the heart of nature.

Discover all the sports you can do in Muro